first_img2019 Tour de France teamsTwenty-two teams will compete in this year’s Tour de France. Team Sky, who had last year’s winner Geraint Thomas, ended its sponsorship of a professional cycling team and was replaced by Team Ineos.Team Ineos (Great Britain)EF Education First (USA)Ag2r La Mondiale (France)Team Sunweb (Germany)Bahrain-Merida (Bahrain)Mitchelton-Scott (Australia)Movistar (Spain)CCC Team (Poland)UAE Team Emirates (United Arab Emirates)Deceuninck – Quick-Step (Belgium)Bora-Hansgrohe (Germany)Astana (Kazakstan)Dimension Data (Russia)Katusha-Alpecin (Switzerland)Groupama-FDJ (France)Jumbo-Visma (Netherlands)Lotto-Soudal (Belgium)Trek-Segafredo (USA)Total-Direct Energie (France)Cofidis, Solutions Crédits (France)Wanty-Groupe Gobert (Belgium)Arkéa-Samsic (France)Tour de France past winnersJacques Anquetil, Eddy Merckx, Bernard Hinault and Miguel Indurain are all tied as the winningest Tour de France riders, with five titles each. Maurice Garin won the first Tour de France in 1903. Geraint Thomas is the defending champion and won three stages during last year’s race.YearWinnerNationality2019TBD Four-time champion Chris Froome will not be riding in this year’s event, leaving just two former winners in the race — his Ineos teammate Geraint Thomas, last year’s victor, and Bahrain-Merida’s Vincenzo Nibali.MORE: Watch the Tour de France live with fuboTV (7-day free trial)The Tour de France features four iconic jerseys, with the most famous being the yellow jersey awarded to the cyclist after each stage with the fastest overall time dating back to the July 6 start. A polka-dot jersey is given to the fastest climber, a white jersey to the fastest cyclist under the age of 26 and a green jersey to the best time trialist.Below is everything you need to know about the 2019 Tour de France including schedule, stage breakdown and how to watch the event. You can also keek track of the race with our standings, updated daily.Tour de France 2019 scheduleThe 21-stage race begins on July 6, and wraps up 23 days later on July 28. Riders are given just two rest days during the grueling 2,162-mile competition.StageDateDistanceDepartArriveCoverage startStage 1Sat., July 6192km (119 mi.)BrusselsBrussels5:30 a.m.Stage 2Sun., July 727km (16.7 mi.)Brussels-Palais RoyalBrussels-Atomium8:00 a.m.Stage 3Mon., July 8214km (133 mi.)BincheEpernay6:00 a.m.Stage 4Tue., July 9215km (133 mi.)ReimsNancy6:00 a.m.Stage 5Wed., July 10169km (105 mi.)Saint-Die-des-VosgesColmar6:00 a.m.Stage 6Thu., July 11157km (97.5 mi.)MulhouseLa Planche des Belles Filles7:00 a.m.Stage 7Fri., July 12230km (142 mi.)BelfortChalon-sur-Saone6:30 a.m.Stage 8Sat., July 13199km (123 mi.)MaconSaint-Etienne5:00 a.m.Stage 9Sun., July 14170km (105 mi.)Saint-EtienneBrioude6:30 a.m.Stage 10Mon., July 15218km (135 mi.)Saint-FlourAlbi6:00 a.m.Rest DayTue., July 16Stage 11Wed., July 17167km (104 mi.)AlbiToulouse7:00 a.m.Stage 12Thu., July 18202km (125.5 mi.)ToulouseBagneres-de-Bigorre5:00 a.m.Stage 13Fri., July 1927km (16.7 mi.)PauPau7:30 a.m.Stage 14Sat., July 20117km (72.5 mi.)TarbesCol du Tourmalet7:00 a.m.Stage 15Sun., July 21185km (115 mi.)LimouxFoix5:30 a.m.Rest DayMon., July 22Stage 16Tue., July 23177km (110 mi.)NimesNimes7:00 a.m.Stage 17Wed., July 24206km (128 mi.)Pont du GardGap6:00 a.m.Stage 18Thu., July 25207km (128.5 mi.)EmbrunValloire5:00 a.m.Stage 19Fri., July 26123km (76 mi.)Saint-Jean-de-MaurienneTignes7:30 a.m.Stage 20Sat., July 27131km (81 mi.)AlbertvilleVal Thorens7:00 a.m.Stage 21Sun., July 28127km (79 mi.)RambouilletParis7:30 a.m.*All times EasternTour de France TV channel, how to live streamTV channel: NBCSNLive stream: NBCSports App, NBC Sports Gold Cycling Pass, fuboTVThe first two stages of the race will be broadcast live on NBCSN, with the station showing delayed coverage and replays for the rest of the race until the final stage. The premium NBC Sports Gold Cycling Pass offers live, commercial-free coverage and replays of every stage for a $54.99 price. The Tour de France can also be streamed with fuboTV, which offers a free trial.LIVE: Track the 2019 Tour de France race standingsTour de France route map What are the Tour de France stages?Over the course of a little more than three weeks, riders will endure a grueling 2,162-mile course that includes seven mountain stages with five summit finishes, five hilly stages, seven flat stages and an individual and team time trial. 2019 marks the fifth time that Belgium has hosted the Grand Depart. #DateLengthStageWinner1July 6192km (119 mi.)Brussels to Brussels (flat)Mike Teunissen2July 727km (16.7 mi.)Brussels-Palais Royal to Brussels-Atomium (team time trial)Jumbo-Visma3July 8214km (133 mi.)Binche to Epernay (hilly)Julian Alaphilippe4July 9215km (133 mi.)Reims to Nancy (flat)Elia Viviani5July 10169km (105 mi.)Saint-Die-des-Vosges to Colmar (hilly)Peter Sagan6July 11157km (97.5 mi.)Mulhouse to La Planche des Belles Filles (mountain)Dylan Teuns7July 12230km (142 mi.)Belfort to Chalon-sur-Saone (flat)Dylan Groenewegen8July 13199km (123 mi.)Macon to Saint-Etienne (hilly)Thomas De Gendt9July 14170km (105 mi.)Saint-Etienne to Brioude (hilly)Daryl Impey10July 15218km (135 mi.)Saint-Flour to Albi (flat)Wout van AertRest DayJuly 1611July 17167km (104 mi.)Albi to Toulouse (flat)Caleb Ewan12July 18202km (125.5 mi.)Toulouse to Bagneres-de-Bigorre (mountain)Simon Yates13July 1927km (16.7 mi.)Pau to Pau (individual time trial)Julian Alaphilippe14July 20117km (72.5 mi.)Tarbes to Col du Tourmalet (mountain)Thibaut Pinot15July 21185km (115 mi.)Limoux to Foix (mountain)Simon YatesRest DayJuly 2216July 23177km (110 mi.)Nimes to Nimes (flat)Caleb Ewan17July 24206km (128 mi.)Pont du Gard to Gap (hilly)Matteo Trentin18July 25207km (128.5 mi.)Embrun to Valloire (mountain)Nairo Quintana19July 26123km (76 mi.)Saint-Jean-de-Maurienne to Tignes (mountain)Egan Bernal20July 27131km (81 mi.)Albertville to Val Thorens (mountain)Vincenzo Nibali21July 28127km (79 mi.)Rambouillet to Paris (flat)Caleb EwanHow many miles is the Tour de France?The Tour de France stretches 2,162 miles. This is almost the exact distance between New York City and Salt Lake City, Utah. The longest stage of the race is the seventh, which is over 142 miles long. That would be similar to driving from Philadelphia to Washington D.C. 2018Geraint ThomasWales2017Chris FroomeEngland2016Chris FroomeEngland2015Chris FroomeEngland2014Vincenzo NibaliItaly2013Chris FroomeEngland2012Bradley WigginsEngland2011Cadel EvansAustralia2010Andy Schleck*Luxembourg2009Alberto ContadorSpain2008Carlos SastreSpain2007Alberto ContadorSpain2006Oscar Pereiro**Spain2005Lance Armstrong***USA2004Lance Armstrong***USA2003Lance Armstrong***USA2002Lance Armstrong***USA2001Lance Armstrong***USA2000Lance Armstrong***USA1999Lance Armstrong***USA1998Marco PantaniItaly*Aberto Contador was the original winner, but later failed a drug test**Floyd Landis was the original winner, but later failed a drug test***All of Lance Armstrong’s titles have been vacated due to dopingcenter_img It may be the dead of summer, but cycling’s crown jewel has arrived with the 106th edition of the Tour de France. Founded in 1903, it is one of cycling’s three grand tours (Giro d’Italia and Vuelta a España being the others).The 23-day, 21-stage race, spanning 3,480 kilometers (2,162 miles) begins in Brussels, Belgium and finishes in Paris. The schedule consists of standard road races, individual time trials and team time trials.  Tour de France

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *